Vidyasagar College for Women

Govt. Aided College, Kolkata. Established in 1960

Vidyasagar College for Women has zero tolerance policy against discrimination and sexual harassment. An act of sexual harassment is a punishable offence.In terms of the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Harassment and Redressal) Act 2013, with a view to provide protection against discrimination and sexual harassment of women at workplace and for the prevention and redressal of complaints of sexual harassment and for matters connected therewith or incidental there to, the Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) has been constituted in the college. ICC looks diligently into matters related to sexual harassment. A sensitization seminar was organised jointly with Nari Samsad on 17.03.2017 to create awareness on the issue of sexual harassment.

According to the Supreme Court of India, the following constitutes sexual harassment:

  1. Physical contact and advances

  2. A demand or request for sexual favours

  3. Sexually coloured remarks

  4. Showing pornography

  5. Any other unwelcome physical, verbal, or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature

Click here to see ugc rules

How to file a complaint (Women staff and students):

  1. Submit the complaint directly to either the Principal or any committee member (teaching or non teaching staff) mentioned below

  2. Send an email at

  3. through the on line grievance portal of the college (for students)

  4. students can put in their complaint in the Grievance Redressal box which has been placed at outside the library.

Composition of the Cell

  1. Dr Sutapa Ray, Principal

  2. Dr. Shobhona Sahoo Associate Professor Departent of Physiology(Teacher Member)

  3. Dr Asutosh Prasad Singh Associate Professor Department of Hindi (Teacher Member)

  4. Dr Shubhra Bagchi Associate Professor Department of Economics(Teacher Member)

  5. Dr Patrali Ghosh, Assistant Professor Department of Philosophy(Teacher Member)

  6. Dr Anasuya Majumdar, Assistant Professor Department of Zoology (Teacher Member)

  7. Smt. Sabita Dam Laboratory Support staff Department of Chemistry(NonTeaching Staff Member)

  8. Sri Sayan Deb Sinha Head Clerk(Non Teaching Staff Member)

  9. Smt Swati Tripathi(Student member)

  10. Smt Priyanka Neogy(Student member)

  11. Smt Shukla Patra(Student member)

  12. Smt. Rumi Sen Advocate(External Member)

Back to Institutional Committees / Cells main